Toss the Teflon!

I read an article this morning that reminded me about the dangers of teflon. Personally, I haven’t used teflon frying pans for years. Even though I’ve never had a bird, knowing that the fumes from teflon coated, cooking surfaces can kill them was reason enough for me to stop.

If the fumes were killing our little, feathered friends, what were those same fumes doing to us?

Switching to cast iron, glass and stainless steel was, and is, easy. Although I’m very, very big on NOT throwing things away, this is one area I’d be forgiving in. If you can’t use your old teflon pots and pans for something other than cooking, then yes, get rid of them.

But keep in mind, they could serve a purpose in the gardening shed, as “mixing bowls” or scoops/shovels. Maybe they could be used as planters. Perhaps you make stepping stones and you can utilize the pots and pans for that? Think before you toss. Donate them to someone else who can use them for hobbies.

Please make the landfill the absolute last resort.  Reduce, reuse, recycle.

I thought I’d share the link to the site where I just read this article. The writer, Katie (aka The Wellness Mama) goes into great detail which really should convince anyone to make the switch 🙂

Be sure to check out the rest of Katie’s site while you’re there. You won’t be disappointed!

Important Reasons to Ditch the Teflon

One thought on “Toss the Teflon!

  1. Well I just guess that is one more reason to toss them. I am not too much a fan either and am trying to leave as little a carbon footprint on this world as possible and reusing, recycling and composting as much as possible.

    Like

Leave a Reply

