Thread! Again.

I wrote a post recently on thread, how one of my local sewing supply stores (Fabricland) offers lower prices, if you’re a member, and my way of circumventing the need for a membership.

I very rarely buy material. Most of my creations are from salvaged items; mainly old jeans. I’m big into the 4 R’s! Reduce, reuse and recycle being the most commonly known. There’s variation on the 4th R; rethink, recover, rescue, repurpose. I even saw ‘rot’ once, which is composting and can be considered as recycling. Personally, I love revive! Yes, it means reuse but sounds so much better 🙂 It’s good to try and follow all of these.

Before I go permanently off topic though (the health of this planet is extremely important to me), let’s get back to material. I very rarely buy it. . . blah, blah, blah. And the printed fabrics I use were given to me. I don’t anticipate requiring more for years. A paid membership wasn’t feasible when thread was usually the solitary item on my shopping list.

I hate going into Fabricland to be bombarded with the constant onslaught of sale signs applying to members only.

download (4)images (61)

 

 

 

 

 

Although I’ve never seen thread for that great of a deal to consider buying a membership (renewable once a year), the dramatic sale signs annoyed me. It’s discrimination for not being a member. And that doesn’t sit well with me.

My sister says, “You have a Costco membership”. True. I did (it expired). But, I couldn’t get into the store without one. I can go into Fabricland either way . I just can’t reap the benefits unless I have a membership. So it is different, in my opinion. It’s a blatant ‘NO sale price for you! You need a membership! Na, na, na na, na!’.

If I didn’t have a Costco card, I simply wouldn’t shop there (like I don’t now, lol) and I wouldn’t be witness to all the great deals I wasn’t able to take advantage of. It wouldn’t bother me.

Presently, I go into Fabricland and I see ‘40% off regular prices’ and I think, “Yay!” and then I also see the ‘members only’ and that just irks me. FORCED membership.

I suppose I should’ve clarified I’ve never seen thread for that great of a deal because I’m hardly ever in there. And I don’t follow the flyers. However, my recent purchase led me back less than a week later. I had 7 days for refunds or exchanges and I’d decided the $5.89 – 500 m spool of thread wasn’t vital to my sewing needs. I’d swap it for 2 of the incredible $4 – 1500 m spools. Three to seven times the amount of thread for a fraction of the cost should’ve been a foregone conclusion, especially when penny pinching! $35.34 vs. $8?

I was clearly not doing the math prior to purchasing. I know, I know, I didn’t buy 6 – $5.89 spools but I’d need to in order to end up with 3000 m. And I would’ve. Eventually.

Well, guess what? Those amazing $4 spools are on sale for $1.50!! For members only of course! They fit fabulously on my old Singer sewing machine with a small touch of ingenuity.

020Plastic wrap (clean, saved and now used for something!) crammed in the spool and voila! No transferring thread to smaller spools as I’d originally planned.

So I have another decision to make. Thread is a staple for anyone who sews. It won’t go bad. 12 spools at $1.50 each would recover the $30 membership fee.

Yes, it’s a massive amount and it’s the equivalent of paying $4 each.

But then I’d be completely set for future savings. All else (on top of those 12 spools) selling for a fantastic price, or even just a good one, would be true savings. Surely I’ll be in Fabricland enough over a year’s time to make a membership worth it??

I’ll require needles for my sewing machine soon. I do buy Ultra Lite Heat & Bond on occasion. Perhaps I’d be persuaded to browse through the ‘fat quarter’ section as they do rather intrigue me. And I’ll forever use denim thread.

What would you do? Swallow your distaste of forced memberships and buy one? Or pass on it, purposely forget everything else, and keep in mind $4 is still phenomenal compared to the smaller, more expensive spools? I also spotted 5000 m spools of thread for $8!! I haven’t even begun to calculate the savings on those! I once never would’ve contemplated buying thread in bulk and now I’m hooked! It’s fab-U-lous! 🙂

The savings alone (ranging from $17-$25 for each $4) on that thread more than makes up for higher, non-membership costs elsewhere . . . . . . doesn’t it? Or are we so programmed that we can’t feel like we saved cold, hard cash unless we see an actual, bona fide SALE price on our receipts?

That’s where I am. Do I buy a membership so I have undeniable, in-my-face savings? Or do the math each time I purchase bulk thread to remind myself I REALLY am still saving plenty of money? I fear I’ve been brainwashed because I’m leaning toward a membership. I need that tangible, here’s my Club card, give me the lower price shopping experience.

And isn’t that ridiculous?

 

Leave a Reply

