I made a slipper!

I’ve never really been a fan of wearing slippers. My feet get too hot, no matter what kind. I’m generally sock-less and slipper-less, except of course when I go to town, to work or outside. And then I have no choice but to put shoes on. If I could have bare feet all the time, I would! Mud . . . . okay, I won’t go there.

A short while ago, I had the notion to make denim slippers. And like most new ideas, I get fixated on them, ditching all current projects to see if this next one will work! It’s a terrible, terrible habit and I’m probably never going to be able to shake it.

Instead, I’m learning to live with it 🙂 I am who I am.

So last night, I grabbed a piece of paper, traced my foot and got busy. I opted for doing a slipper completely from scratch, meaning I winged it as I went along. I’m very stubborn when it comes to making any of my denim items. I avoid Googling for patterns and take it all from inside my crowded head. Sometimes my ideas work, sometimes not so much.

My slipper, and I literally only made one, turned out fantastically! Far from perfect (I’ve given up the dream of achieving perfection, life is easier for it too) and I’ll do future slippers a bit differently but it was still a huge success.

I decided to make an open-toe style, so my feet, er, foot doesn’t get too warm and because it would be simpler for a first attempt. I’m digging on the fringe although it took me forEVER to do it! And I did it crookedly to boot, lol.

All in the learning process, right!? Right! And obviously I need to make an actual pair. This was my experimental slipper and now I know what to do! And not to do.

026

My mom’s at the top of my list of those to make some for. She’s a dedicated slipper wearer. Personally, I don’t care if I ever have a pair! I just like making stuff from denim 🙂

028

 

 

Leave a Reply

