100% whole grain, vegan apple raisin scones

Sometimes I really impress myself. Today is one of those days! 🙂

I’m sitting here munching on my 3rd (yep) homemade scone. I literally took them out of the oven not more than half an hour ago. I called my sister first to tell her the exciting news (lol) and then sat down to write this post.

My brother-in-law, Mark, is a man who actually cooks and bakes. He recently made raisin scones and my sister mentioned it on her Facebook page as she was quite proud of his accomplishment. I’d asked her what kind of flour he’d used and of course it was white. I avoid white flour and always challenge myself to create a whole grain version.

While I was at my sister’s house last night, after picking them up from the airport, preparing their dinner of soup, salad and baking powder biscuits, my brother-in-law said he’d tried scones again with whole wheat flour and they’d bombed. I was busy and can admit I wasn’t truly paying attention to him. I’m not sure I even commented on his revelation. I’m bad! We all should pay more attention to the people around us! Sorry, Mark.

Today I got to thinking about scones again. I’ve been wanting to attempt them just to prove to Mark that they can in fact be whole wheat. And not just a portion, but 100%. I also needed them to be vegan.

I Googled ‘vegan raisin scones’ and looked at the first website to catch my eye. I won’t include a link because I never actually used the recipe. It involved only white flour. But what I did notice is that it was practically identical to my baking powder biscuit recipe! And my biscuits are a huge success every time I make them.

My wheels began turning and almost immediately I was in the kitchen experimenting.

Since I’ve already eaten 3 scones you can guess correctly that my attempt was triumphant.

Here’s what I used: (I always weigh my ingredients for complete accuracy)

  • 240 g sifted whole wheat flour (2 cups)
  • 12 g baking powder (1 tbsp)
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 24 g sugar (2 tbsp)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 30 g coconut butter & 30 g coconut oil (solid)
  • 80 g raisins (add more or less depending on your preference)
  • ½ cup applesauce mixed with ½ water
  • additional flour for shaping the dough

In a medium to large bowl, mix first 5 ingredients. Cut in coconut oil and coconut butter.015

Stir in raisins.

016

Stir in diluted applesauce and bring it together.

017

018

If it appears to be too wet, sprinkle some additional flour in. You want to form a ball but not an overly stiff one. Place on floured counter.

019

Pat into a rectangular shape about ½” or so thick.

020

Cut into 9 pieces.

021

Put on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

022

Bake 11 minutes at 450 degrees.

I’ve used coconut oil and coconut butter often enough to feel pretty confident in experimenting with them. So I used a combination of the two to replace the ¼ cup of vegan margarine/butter the recipe called for. There was no detectable coconut flavor in the finished product. I’m finding this to be true when I use coconut oil in baking. I worry there could be a strong coconut flavor and there never is.

Using it in cooking is completely different though! I made pasta sauce once, using coconut oil for sautéing and could still taste the oil when it was done.

I used diluted applesauce (made from my crab apples in case you’re wondering why it’s so pink) to replace the non-dairy milk. Raisin scones seemed like something that could handle an applesauce flavor. I imagined water alone would be too thin. I didn’t have any soy or almond milk. . . . I had applesauce in the fridge. . . . .so the idea for diluted applesauce was born! It worked fantastically!

Next time I’ll use a different cookie sheet. This one (I forgot!) can burn things much easier and the bottoms of my scones came out quite dark although not burnt tasting. Whew! I kind of even liked the little bit of crispiness/crunch of the brown bottoms.026

I can’t say for sure what a “real” scone tastes like. I can’t compare the texture either. I don’t even know when I last had a genuine scone but I can tell you, this recipe is going in my folder. I’ll be making them again soon for my sister and her husband too.

They were delightful, not sweet, not bland, not heavy, not crumbly.

Perfect 🙂 In my humble opinion.024027

I only wish I’d had butter to take a picture with it melting all over a scone fresh from the oven.

Leave a Reply

