Brussel Sprout Leaves, eat ’em and juice ’em!

This morning I was inspired to have a juice after comments made on yesterday’s post. Thanks James! Be sure to visit him at http://www.mindyourdirt.com

I began juicing shortly after my sister did last year. Or was it the year before? I’m not sure. Having such a poor memory is a nuisance at times 🙂 But then again, there are worse things so I don’t fret over it too much. Unless I’m thinking about what it’s going to be like when I’m 80. Even now, I frequently burn my toast because I wander too far. On the odd occasion, I go outside and neglect the soup heating up on the stove. And more than once, I’ve overflowed my kitchen sink by deciding to vacuum while filling it up to wash dishes! Duh!

But anyway, I had sautéed brussel sprout leaves recently. My brussel sprout plants were started too late and will not produce actual sprouts. I was wondering if I could at least eat the leaves, the big, green, glorious leaves. I hate things going to waste. A quick Google revealed that brussel sprout leaves are in fact edible. Yay. I gave them a try and they’re now on my list of veggies/leafy greens to consume.

When James (thank you again) mentioned perhaps using the leaves in a juice, along with cucumber, apple, lemon and ginger, it had me almost instantly in the kitchen. I had everything on hand except for the ginger. Which is fine, ginger’s a hard one for me!

004005008

And the verdict is. . . . .YES, you can juice brussel sprout leaves! Initially, I was only going to use one leaf as they are rather large. And then I figured, be brave and use two.

Honestly, I can’t even tell they’re in there. I’ve had juice with kale or romaine and always know. Yuck.

I’m impressed with brussel sprout leaves.

Crab apples totally worked too! Although, why wouldn’t they? They’re still apples, just smaller and kind of a pain to cut up. However, since I’m currently out of the organic gala apples I normally buy because I’m too cheap to pay $7.58 for a 3 pound bag, I tried my FREE, freshly picked crab apples. Also organic.

I’ll be having another juice tomorrow. I need to get back into the habit. As my sister always says, juicing gives you a waterfall of nutrients flowing through your body. Or something like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

