Do YOU know what biosolids are?

Before a couple of days ago, I don’t think I’d ever heard the word ‘biosolids’. If I had, I never paid attention. At first, it didn’t sound so bad. Biosolids, used in farming as a valuable soil conditioner. Okay. Sure.

And then I Googled it!

I thought I was fairly knowledgeable about healthy food, organic gardening, green, cleaning products and the better beauty products in general. I consider myself to be very environmentally-friendly. But the past 2+ months of research I’ve been doing has really opened my eyes.

Green washing, ecocide, cruelty-free, ethically sourced, fair-trade, responsibly sourced, sustainable. There is SO MUCH to be aware of! I’ve e-mailed over 2 ½ dozen companies, asking about their palm oil, their animal testing policies, their suppliers, their ingredients and more. ‘Biosolids’ investigating is just beginning.

So far, I’ve ruled many companies off my list of ones to purchase from.

Seventh Generation, for instance, doesn’t seem to actually know what kind of palm oil they use. I was in contact with 3 different representatives and received conflicting answers. My confidence in the company was erased and I’ll bypass them in the future.

Ecover assured me their SLS and SLES are safe, although their site doesn’t address this in any way, shape or form. Nor does their labeling. I was told this is due to their desire for a sleek, minimal design. They didn’t tell me why their site lacked such information. Honestly, a company that can say “always non-toxic” and “low aquatic toxicity” doesn’t inspire me to remain a customer. It can’t be both!

I’ve decided to make my own liquid dish soap. I recently learned how to make bar soap! Good bye Ivory! (From Proctor & Gamble, a company that does animal testing).

Arm & Hammer baking soda, from Church & Dwight, a company that conducts animal testing.

But I’m getting long, when I intended to make this a “short” post. Back to biosolids. Doesn’t sound bad? No. I didn’t think so.

Biosolids. . . . sewage sludge. . . . . human manure. And they’re used as fertilizer in farming!!! In conventional farming. I can’t be more happy I’m 100% organic. If I never had an argument for promoting organic foods before, I do now!

Yes. If you research it, you’ll find many articles touting the safety and the benefits of biosolids. You’ll also find people against using them. It’s like most any subject, there’s always a “for” camp and an “against” camp.

I’m in the against camp. Why? Because removing MOST of the pathogens in the treatment of sewage sludge before it’s used in farming is not good enough for me! People who claim “a little bit” is acceptable fail to acknowledge a little here and a little there eventually adds up to a LOT. Accumulation. It’s a fact that shouldn’t be ignored.

Pathogens are infectious agents that cause disease or illness. I don’t know about you, but for me, MOST of them being gone is unacceptable. Never mind the presence of contaminants such as heavy metals, pesticides, antibiotics, PCB’s, estrogenic hormones and flame retardants. Everything that gets flushed down a toilet or washed down a drain ends up in a water treatment facility. It all becomes sewage sludge, which then becomes what many people like to call biosolids.

I call it what it is. Shit. Crap. Human manure. I don’t care what it’s turned into. It began as poop. People poop.

For conventional farmers it’s all about money. It’s cheaper to buy human manure turned fertilizer. And what’s the real cost? You. The unsuspecting consumer.

If you think it’s too expensive to buy organic, you just need to learn some crafty tips for shopping. Bulk. Splitting the cost with friends or family. Finding online sources with free shipping. Farmer’s markets.

When it’s your health, it’s easier to justify the cost.

You simply have to begin. One conventional item is replaced with organic and eventually you’re all the way there. Or at least half way because some is better than none 🙂

Look for the USDA Organic or Canada Organic symbols. Biosolids are not used in organic farming. And Bob’s Red Mill products are good to go, I heard back from them this morning and they do not buy from growers who use biosolids. It’s important to support these kinds of companies. Demand goes up, prices go down. Hopefully!

Leave a Reply

