Smoothie Time!

014017016

One of my favorite ways to begin the day is with a smoothie. I will admit I have phases where my blender gathers dust, gets used on a regular basis or only once a week. Since I have kale and spinach fresh from my garden, I figured it was a perfect time to whip one up!

Unlike my sister, who’s a devout, recipe follower, I’m more of a “toss whatever I have on hand” into the jug kind of person. I always try to get the greens in there. Trust me when I say you’ll never taste the spinach. Kale, romaine, collard greens, yes, you have to develop a liking for.

In my opinion anyway. I know others would disagree. And that’s okay!

My 100% organic 🙂 concoction for this morning was:

  • kale – 4 large leaves
  • spinach – 2 handfuls
  • soy beverage
  • water
  • frozen blueberries
  • frozen blackberries
  • 1 banana
  • a lonely chunk of frozen avocado
  • raw almond butter – 2 tbsp.
  • raw honey – 1 tbsp. or so (my last jar and I’m never buying honey again!)

This one was pretty decent tasting. I’ve managed some not so good ones in the past but I always still drink them. Similar to juicing, smoothies are an amazing blast of nutrients and your body will love you for it.019

Leave a Reply

