006

I love fresh garlic and fresh ginger. But sometimes I don’t use it all and it ends up sad, shriveled and in the garbage can. Until I realized I could dry it! Duh. It’s one of the easiest things to do.

I always have garlic and ginger available and I save money by not tossing it.

If you want to give it a try, here’s how you go about it :

  1. Peel your ginger and/or your garlic cloves
  2. Slice very thin or finely mince
  3. Spread out on a cookie sheet (or a plate, it depends on how much you have) lined with parchment paper
  4. Let it air dry, turning it from time to time – this will take several days

This is what I’ve done and it’s always worked for me. You’ll probably find conflicting information, people who say, “Nooo, do it this way” or “Noooo, do it MY way”, if you search different sites. Feel free to do whatever you want. I’m guessing you could use something other than parchment paper and maybe even use your oven on a super, low heat.

I generally do this in the warmer, summer months as the garlic and ginger will dry faster. But I’ve also done it during the winter because I have a wood stove which throws a lot of heat for drying as well.

Whatever you do, just make sure the garlic and ginger is COMPLETELY dry before you put it away in a jar! If it bends without breaking, keep drying. If it snaps, you should be good to go. Of course you can’t snap the minced stuff, use your judgement here. It’s garlic and ginger, not rocket science.

When you need garlic or ginger for a recipe, simply rehydrate it in a small bowl of boiling water for 5-10 minutes, drain (or not if it’s a saucy sort of dish) and use as you would fresh (not tossed on a salad however). I can’t actually say how much dried equals how much fresh as I’m a “throw it in” kind of cook, so more or less garlic or ginger doesn’t make much of a difference to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

