DIY Scouring Cleanser

Part of green living means not buying all those “regular” cleaners like Pine Sol, Lysol and Comet. You might not consider it but they’re not good for you (or our planet). I once cleaned a house, it took me all day, and I was so ill that night. I never made the connection until years later, when I began learning about toxic substances and how to avoid them, that it was from the exposure to those cleaners.

I’ve used baking soda and vinegar and environmentally-friendly alternatives now for a very long time. And guess what? I never feel sick afterwards! A few weeks ago I came across a recipe for a scouring cleanser through David Suzuki’s website http://www.davidsuzuki.org

He’s one of the most trusted people I turn to when I want to know something about how to help/safeguard the environment. I admire that man immensely for all he’s done and all he continues to do! Go, David!

http://www.davidsuzuki.org/publications/resources/2011/green-cleaning-recipes/

I was so impressed after making the first bottle, I made a second one for my sister. This morning I mixed up a third one. It’s a great feeling knowing I’m not washing something harmful down the drain while scrubbing out a sink or bath tub. Three ingredients (four if adding an essential oil) and you’re all set.

001

Give it a try, I’d be very surprised if you were disappointed!

In a bowl, combine and stir until smooth:

  • 1 2/3 cups baking soda (430 g)
  • 1/2 cup liquid castile soap (114 g) I use Dr. Bronner’s
  • 1/2 cup water (110 g)

005006007008010

Pour into a squeeze bottle (the one I used is an old save from dish washing liquid, it literally was in my cupboard for 2 or 3 years until I had a new purpose for it; recycle, reduce, reuse, right?) with a lid that closes tight (you don’t want it to dry out). Shake gently prior to each use. If you’re using an unscented, liquid castile soap, you can always add 3-5 drops of an essential oil (such as peppermint, lavender or lemon) if you desire.

Now, I will admit I’ve used just baking soda to scrub out a sink. It works very well. But there’s something about a scouring cleanser that I like more. It’s nonsensical really when the results are the same (a clean sink).

The following demonstration is my very own bathroom sink. I saved it just for this 🙂 See how it goes from dull and dingy to shiny and squeaky clean! And yes, I know the Vileda scouring pad isn’t EF. It’s from days gone by. I don’t purchase them any longer.

013014015016017

This cleanser isn’t exactly easy on the pocketbook. I estimate $3.10 per bottle, which IS less expensive than buying an environmentally-friendly version and considerably more expensive than baking soda alone. It’s up to you and what you prefer. I’ll probably go back to baking soda once I run out of liquid, castile soap. Or I’ll use the scouring cleanser for larger areas like shower walls and only baking soda for sinks. Yeah. I think that’ll work! I’ll also wait to buy the ingredients when they’re on sale 🙂

Leave a Reply

