A salad in a sandwich

One of my all-time favorite sandwiches is tomato. And then I load it up with various veggies; onion, romaine lettuce, spinach, kale, red pepper, whatever I have on hand and whatever I feel like washing and cutting up.

For the next couple of months I’ll be using glorious greens from my garden! 🙂

027

From left to right there’s Osaka Purple mustard greens (very strong flavored eaten alone but undetectable mixed in with everything else), Bloomsdale Savoy spinach (sadly already going to seed because of the warm weather), Winter Red kale, Pomegranate Crunch romaine lettuce (under the kale) and 2 types of green romaine romaine lettuce (Plato II and Winter Density, I can’t tell them apart).

One thing so wonderful about having your own garden is you can plant varieties you won’t find in the grocery stores. Next year, when I have my greenhouse back, I’ll be in tomato heaven. Green Zebra, Bonny Best, Gold Nugget, Old German, Jaune Flamme, Indigo Rose and Taxi are all on my current list. I’ll be sure to add more.

For now, I have to be satisfied with regular, old hothouse. Some onion. And alfalfa sprouts.

031

Sprouts are fabulous! I encourage everyone to give home sprouting a try, it’s really very simple unless you’re out 18 hours a day. Crimson Lentils, Daikon Radish, Mung Bean, sunflower, broccoli, I can’t even name them all. I’m certain I’ll do a post one day solely upon sprouting. But now let’s focus on my sandwich!

I make homemade buns. Bunwiches I call them actually because they’re not truly a bun and not truly bread, somewhere in between I guess. 100% whole grain (whole wheat and spelt combo) from a sourdough starter. The final result is a toasted sandwich/bunwich that’s thicker than a burger and so much better for me.

033

I swear every time I have one I roll my eyes and tell myself, “Oh my God, that was sooooo delicious!”. I want another one right now that I’m remembering it. YUM.

Leave a Reply

