Less than 2 minutes can change your life

I’m very dedicated to organics. I believe in the industry and I support it as much as possible. My garden is grown strictly without the use of harmful pesticides and fertilizers. When I eat at home, it’s 100% organic.

I wasn’t always this way.

When I was in my early 30’s, my mother was diagnosed with diabetes. My grandmother had high cholesterol and the beginnings of macular degeneration. It made me stop and think. I didn’t want to end up like them when I got older.

I searched for ways to ward off these kinds of problems and it led me to nutrition, which led me to organics. I’ve done the work. I’m not a “blind” organic freak who has latched onto the latest craze. I learned if we put poison into our bodies, we WILL suffer the consequences.

Now I’m in my mid 40’s. I AM older! (How the heck did that happen??) And although I don’t have any illnesses that I know of, I can surely still acquire one.

I don’t want to.

Food can be our enemy or it can be our guardian. I definitely try to strive for the latter. I don’t succeed every single day but when “mistakes” become fewer and farther between, it’s all good. Very, very good.

I know many, many people scoff at organics. I also know if they did their due diligence, they’d very likely feel differently. My sister recently showed me a short documentary on the effects of organic food. It was so powerful, I immediately told her to share it to my Facebook page.

She did. And now I want to share it with you.

You hear about all those nasty “things” they spray on crops and it’s an abstract notion, easily dismissed. When you actually SEE it, it makes an impact. You don’t have to go organic all at once, simply begin with the most contaminated produce (apples and celery are right up there!). It took me several years to finally have my pantry (and fridge) converted completely over.

It takes time. It’s your health. It’s worth it. YOU are worth it.

http://foodmatters.tv/content/the-organic-effect-a-short-documentary

One thought on “Less than 2 minutes can change your life

  1. Pingback: Less than 2 minutes can change your life | CouchQuilts (and more!) | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

