Vegan, 100% whole grain, raisin bran muffins

It’s a glorious sunny day and I’m in a sharing mood ­čÖé

Since I became a vegan, and because I adore cooking, I’ve also become a fan of scouring the internet for new recipes. A while back a friend had mentioned a liking for bran muffins. So the search commenced! Vegan bran muffin recipes (that suited me) were actually quite difficult to locate. I finally found this one on a site called “Fueled by Plants”. I absolutely want to give credit to the owner and have included a link at the bottom of this page.

You’ll notice a few differences in my recipe and the original. I often fiddle with a new recipe to accommodate my pantry and/or my preferences. I’m not in any way, shape or form saying my version is superior. You’re at liberty to make these muffins however you like.

I omitted the molasses as I only have blackstrap and find it’s too strong of a taste for me. I used maple syrup and light brown sugar instead, a mere 7┬átbsp. of sweetener in total. I decided 1 tbsp. of flax seed wasn’t worth it when divided among 12 muffins. I reduced the baking soda from 2 tsp. to 3/4 tsp. and the salt from 1 tsp. to 1/4-1/2 tsp. to cut down the sodium count. I also use weights rather than measurements (I do provide both however). Over the years, I’ve discovered that this is the best way to be consistent.

I’ll be the first to admit these are not the world’s most wonderful muffins but the health benefits make up for any shortcomings. Light and fluffy? Sorry. Vegan? Refined sugar free? Oil free? 100% whole grain? Loaded with dietary fiber?┬áToday’s your lucky day! Shame on all of you who are┬áthinking these are probably taste free too.

I’ve made these muffins many times and they’ve always worked well for me. In fact, when my sister requests baking,┬áthese are in her top five picks. I do sometimes use different whole grain flours and have used partial oat bran (when I don’t have enough wheat bran) but so far that’s it. I plan on trying frozen blueberries rather than raisins in the future. Any substitutions you make are at your own risk ­čÖé Please feel free to let me know about your successes (or failures) in the comments section though. I’m always interested in how one recipe can be adapted into several options.

You must excuse my pictures. I don’t have a fabulous and beautiful food blog like so many others do. I don’t even have a plain food blog ­čÖé I just decided, spur of the moment really, to share this recipe today. Tomorrow I’ll be occupied with another subject. Such as my confounded sewing machines giving me grief again. Argh.

011012

I’ve shown┬áthe Earth Balance Organic┬áTraditional Spread just in case any of you were thinking “Hey! She’s not vegan! She has butter on that muffin!”. If you’ve never tried EB, I highly recommend it. You’ll be surprised at how good it is! And no, I’m not receiving any perks for expressing my opinion ­čÖé I just really love EB!

Recipe: makes 12 muffins

  • 274 g wheat bran (3 cups)
  • 160 g applesauce (2/3 cup)
  • 472 g non-dairy milk (I use unsweetened almond)
  • 68 g maple syrup (1/4 cup)
  • 36 g light brown sugar (3 tbsp.)
  • 160 g raisins (I’m not sure what this is in cups, I reduced it from 1 1/2 cups)
  • 120 g spelt flour (1 cup)
  • 60 g whole wheat flour (1/2 cup)
  • 1 tbsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp. sea salt

As I┬átyped that out I realized the theme I chose for my blog does not offer a “Print recipe” option. I apologize to anyone who feels annoyed at having to reach for an old-fashioned pen and paper.

Mix the first 6 ingredients in a large bowl. Set aside 15 minutes or more. I’ve left it as long as an hour without any problems. In a small bowl, mix the remaining 6 ingredients. Set aside also. Prepare your muffin pan with liners or with oil and flour, or however you normally do it. Now this may be where you have issues. . . . I don’t know. I don’t use a muffin pan or muffin liners. I detest non-stick bake ware. Liners (the environmentally-friendly ones) can be expensive. Plus they’re just more waste and they often stick to the muffin anyway.

I use 1 cup wide-mouth canning jars. I rub a┬áthin layer of coconut oil inside them and then dust with flour. They work great! I made this discovery after unsuccessfully searching for a glass muffin pan ­čÖé

I preheat my oven to 350 degrees while preparing my jars. If you’re using a pan with liners, you’d have preheated your oven much earlier. Once my jars are ready, I mix the dry ingredients into the wet and stir well, no need to be gentle. You will then divide the batter evenly between 12 cups (jars in my case and I use my kitchen scale for truly equal muffins). I should also add I cool my jars (prior to oiling them) in┬áthe fridge slightly if the weather is quite warm. Melted oil is the least preferable state your oil should be in; hard(ish) or a bit soft is easier.

Bake 31 minutes. I understand that different ovens may function slower, faster, cooler or hotter. SO check your muffins (you know, with a toothpick) around the 25 minute mark and go from there. Once done, remove to a baking rack to cool. I take mine out of their jars within 10 minutes and then allow them to cool completely on the rack. In my opinion, these are better the next day.

https://plantfueled.wordpress.com/2012/03/27/recipe-whole-wheat-low-fat-vegan-bran-muffins

Leave a Reply

