A successful search!

Yesterday, completely neglecting my to-do list, I went into town instead. I’ve had an idea in my mind for a while now to make my brother a Montreal Canadiens quilt. He recently purchased a new home and the quilt will be a housewarming gift. It’s a gift I’m confident no one else will be giving. I’m also confident I can write this and publish it because there’s pretty much a zero chance of him ever reading it. He has no clue I’ve begun my own blog.

But anyway, back to the quilt idea. My mom has been searching her local thrift stores for Montreal Canadiens t-shirts without any luck. I’d been to a few smaller ones here with similar results. Our largest thrift store had a 50% off sale yesterday and I hit what I consider to be the jackpot. I came home with 5 suitable t-shirts!! I’d like 6 in total. Plus I found 10 more for other quilts (or reusable shopping bags).

After 2 full cycles in the washing machine, they’re ready for the next step. Unfortunately I have to go shopping again for the iron-on adhesive I use to make the t-shirts sturdy enough to pair with the denim. Once that’s done I can begin designing. I have an image in my head but that’s often tossed aside when I have a pencil in my hand.

I’m looking forward to beginning this denim, couch quilt as I have less than 2 months to finish it. . . . . although I really shouldn’t even be starting it! My ex mother-in-law’s quilt ought to be priority. . . . . I have an idea for a “recycling/green” theme too. This is what I mean when my head gets too full.

Here are pictures of the t-shirts I plan to use. I emailed them to my mom earlier and her underwhelming reply was “very nice”. Nice to me is a standard word one uses when they have nothing much else to say 🙂 I suppose it’s easier to be excited when one has vision and can imagine the end product.

026 028 030 031 032033

I won’t use both ‘Hockey Night in Canada’ shirts and am leaning toward the darker of the two. I’m thrilled I’ve found 5 of 6! I was beginning to think I wouldn’t find any. I sure hope I can find a final one. . . . fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

